Carolina Coastal Railway Acquisition

Regional Rail, a US-based SJE Group investment through its investment partner 3i, has agreed to acquire Carolina Coastal Railway, Inc which operates 180 miles of freight railroad in North Carolina and South Carolina, subject to authorisation from the Surface Transportation Board.

Carolina Coastal provides freight transportation and car-storage services to over 45 blue-chip customers, operating across a variety of end markets (including aggregates, food and agriculture, chemicals and metals), primarily in eastern North Carolina.

Following this acquisition, Regional Rail will operate 25 line segments across five states, with almost 550 miles of track. This is the second acquisition this year with the acquisition of Pinsly Railroad Company’s Florida operations in January 2020.

The SJE Group congratulates Al Sauer (CEO, Regional Rail), Doug Golden (President, Carolina Coastal) and Rob Collins (Managing Partner, 3i North American Infrastructure) and their respective teams.

About Regional Rail

Regional Rail is a leading owner and operator of short-line freight railroads and rail-related businesses in the U.S. The company provides freight transportation, railcar storage and transloading services in New York, Pennsylvania, Delaware and Florida across six railroads with over 360 miles of track connecting into a diversified Class 1 railroad network. In 2018, the combined company moved over 29,000 carloads while serving over 140 customers across an extensive set of end-user markets including heating, fuel blending, food nd beverage, agriculture, chemicals and metals. In addition to freight-rail transportation, the company also provides railroad-crossing signal design, construction, inspection and maintenance services to a diverse base of over 100 short-line and industrial customers across 20 states.

© 2019 by SJE Group. Proudly created by DMC Solutions.

Argentina. Austria. Australia. Bahamas. Belgium. Belize. Bermuda. Brazil. Canada. China. Colombia. Denmark. Finland. France. Germany. Hong Kong. Indonesia. Ireland. Israel. Italy. Japan. Luxembourg. Malaysia. Mexico. Monaco. Netherlands. New Zealand. Nigeria. Norway. Philippines. Poland. Portugal. Singapore. South Africa. South Korea. Spain. Sweden. Switzerland. Thailand. Turkey. UAE. UK. US.