Honouring Joaquin Phoenix

The SJE Group is committed to supporting animal welfare and the arts; that is our raison d'être. We therefore celebrate and support any public figure who uses their platform to advocate our core vision, like Joaquin Phoenix.

At the 2020 Oscars, Joaquin brought up the hard to swallow truth about the dairy industry and our relationship with nature as a whole in his best actor acceptance speech:

We’re talking about the fight against injustice, we’re talking about the fight against the belief that one nations, one people, one race, one gender or one species has the right to dominate, control, and use and exploit another with impunity…I think that we’ve become very disconnected from the natural world…We go into the natural world and we plunder it for its resources. We feel entitled to artificially inseminate a cow and when she gives birth we steal her baby even though her cries of anguish are unmistakable. And then we take her milk that’s intended for her calf, and we put it in our coffee and cereal.We fear the idea of personal change, because we feel like we have to sacrifice something to give something up, but human beings at our best are so inventive and creative and ingenious and I think that when we use love and compassion as our guiding principles we can create, develop and implement systems of change that are beneficial to all sentient beings and to the environment.

People are no doubt realising the non-necessity of animal cruelty, albeit slowly. At the end of the day, it comes down to people making changes in their lives. As Joaquin said, some changes are initially seen as sacrifices but once you make them, like giving up dairy or meat, you realise you weren’t missing out on anything and it’s not a sacrifice at all. The benefits far outweigh the (supposed) cost.

© 2019 by SJE Group. Proudly created by DMC Solutions.

Argentina. Austria. Australia. Bahamas. Belgium. Belize. Bermuda. Brazil. Canada. China. Colombia. Denmark. Finland. France. Germany. Hong Kong. Indonesia. Ireland. Israel. Italy. Japan. Luxembourg. Malaysia. Mexico. Monaco. Netherlands. New Zealand. Nigeria. Norway. Philippines. Poland. Portugal. Singapore. South Africa. South Korea. Spain. Sweden. Switzerland. Thailand. Turkey. UAE. UK. US.