“Kiribati Floating Houses”Competition

​YAC - Young Architects Competitions and Cantiere delle Marche have launched the “Kiribati Floating Houses” competition. Young architects are invited to design floating structures to tackle the challenges of the rise in ocean levels and climate change.

A cash prize of € 15,000 will be awarded to winners. In addition, some projects will be selected to be part of an exhibition at Santa Maria della Vita in Bologna and some other projects will be selected to be part of an exhibition about the ocean exploration held by National Geographic at Palazzo Blu in Pisa.

The jury consists of:

Kengo Kuma; Moon Hoon; Rocco Yim; Cristiana Favretto (Studiomobile); Simon Frommenwiler (HHF Architects); Fabio Roversi Monaco (Genus Bononiae); Giuseppe Zampieri (David Chipperfield Architects); Teuea Tebau; Marco Imperadori (Politecnico di Milano); Vasco Buonpensiere (Cantiere delle Marche); Walter Mariotti (Editoriale Domus); and Marco Cattaneo (National Geographic)

Prizes are:

1st Prize: 8.000 €

2nd Prize: 4.000 €

3rd Prize: 2.000 €

2 Gold Mentions 500€ each

10 Honorable Mentions

30 Finalists

The timetable is:

28/10/2019 “early bird” registration – start

24/11/2019 (h 11.59 pm GMT) “early bird” registration – end

25/11/2019 “standard” registration – start

22/12/2019 (h 11.59 pm GMT) “standard” registration – end

23/12/2019 “late” registration – start

19/01/2020 (h 11.59 pm GMT) “late” registration – end

22/01/2020 (h 12.00 pm – Midday - GMT) material submission deadline

For more information, and to register for the competition, please visit here.

© 2019 by SJE Group. Proudly created by DMC Solutions.

Argentina. Austria. Australia. Bahamas. Belgium. Belize. Bermuda. Brazil. Canada. China. Colombia. Denmark. Finland. France. Germany. Hong Kong. Indonesia. Ireland. Israel. Italy. Japan. Luxembourg. Malaysia. Mexico. Monaco. Netherlands. New Zealand. Nigeria. Norway. Philippines. Poland. Portugal. Singapore. South Africa. South Korea. Spain. Sweden. Switzerland. Thailand. Turkey. UAE. UK. US.