Welcoming Bruce Car

Agios Pharmaceuticals, an SJE Group investment and a leader in the field of cellular metabolism to treat cancer and rare genetic diseases, has appointed Dr Bruce Car as Chief Scientific Officer effective January 6, 2020.

Dr. Car will replace Scott Biller, Ph.D., who will retire at the end of 2019 and remain a strategic advisor to Agios through 2020. Dr. Car spent 25 years at Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMS) and its legacy companies, working across all therapeutic areas and drug modalities, and serving most recently as the interim head, BMS drug discovery.

During his tenure at BMS and its legacy companies, Dr. Car helped bring more than 200 drug candidates to clinical trials and 13 marketed drugs, including ELIQUIS®, OPDIVO® and FARXIGA®, to patients. For more than two decades, he held roles of increasing responsibility in drug discovery, covering all therapeutic areas, drug platforms and stages of discovery. Dr. Car also led the BMS R&D campus in Bangalore, India (BBRC) for six years across all aspects of discovery and later established a translational medicine function at that site. In early 2017, he became the first head of the BMS translational medicine group, where he successfully built a cohesive function of over 300 scientists and specialists covering biomarkers through pharmaco-diagnostics. Among his responsibilities in translational medicine, Dr. Car led the R&D computational biology and machine learning capabilities and pharmaco-diagnostic technology platforms. Dr. Car received veterinary medicine and Masters in pathology degrees from The University of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, and his Ph.D. from Cornell University, where he is currently an adjunct professor. Dr. Car undertook his postdoctoral studies in immunology and inflammation at the Theodor Kocher Institute, University of Berne and ETH/University of Zurich.

The SJE Group congratulates Dr Car, Dr Jackie Fouse (CEO of Agios) and the rest of the Executive for this appointment.

© 2019 by SJE Group. Proudly created by DMC Solutions.

Argentina. Austria. Australia. Bahamas. Belgium. Belize. Bermuda. Brazil. Canada. China. Colombia. Denmark. Finland. France. Germany. Hong Kong. Indonesia. Ireland. Israel. Italy. Japan. Luxembourg. Malaysia. Mexico. Monaco. Netherlands. New Zealand. Nigeria. Norway. Philippines. Poland. Portugal. Singapore. South Africa. South Korea. Spain. Sweden. Switzerland. Thailand. Turkey. UAE. UK. US.